Day 3

It’s day 3 and I waited until the last minute to write. I love today’s writing and not because I think it’s great. Honestly, it was difficult to write because I decided to do a Haiku. The guidelines of that style of poem are strict although less so in recent times. Typically, a Haiku follows a 5-7-5 theme but I decided to do a 6-8-6 theme which was hard enough. The reason why I loved writing today is because it wasn’t about eloquent words. It is about what is behind the words. My research was so much fun. I’ll go ahead and share the simple short poem, explain a little bit about where I’m coming from and then I’ll give you the links to my research in case you feel up to reading some cool stuff.

Victory

Pure dove over waters

Sinless lamb led to the slaughter

Royal white horse rider

Ok, like I said, nothing super catchy here. I want to share with you how this came about. First, a disclaimer. I am no grand theologian. I would like to be but my focus right now is on being a mom and a wife and lets be honest… It’s a miracle that I had time to do this tonight. Anyway, I was mulling over what to write and the image of the rider on a white horse from Revelation 19 came to mind. By the way, I can’t wait to see Him. I am terrified and overjoyed at the thought. Holy cow, if you haven’t read Revelation 19, stop reading this and go read that. If you’re sticking around to read my tiny thoughts… I’ll continue. I read that passage and wondered why God chose a “white” horse. I love imagery. LOVE it. Jesus, Savior of the world chose a white horse to ride in defeating the beast. The horse displays power and honor as it is usually a King’s choice. The color white in this instance is thought to mean victory. Our God is victorious! These thoughts quickly reminded me of the lamb. Also, a white animal. Imagery of the lamb is threaded throughout the entire bible. “Behold, the Lamb of God…” as spoken by John the Baptist. This lamb was slaughtered for our sins but was not to remain in the grave, He rose on the third day. My mind halted… Wait… John the Baptist, baptized Jesus. Imagery from another animal was involved. The dove. Also, a white animal. This particular animal is also used throughout scripture. In this instance a symbol for the Holy Spirt. The dove was also thought to describe the Holy Spirit hovering over the face of the waters in Genesis. In the story of Noah the dove was sent out three times and the third time it did’t return. The Dove and Lamb are sacrificial animals meant for peace. The Horse… not so much.

I just think that although white tends to mean purity, it also means victory. The sign of hope is fulfilled. Jesus has been victorious all along… even in the most grim of circumstances.

Listen, do I have a conclusion on what all this mean? No. My research is weak at best but our God is too great an author to write such a detailed text that includes such beautiful repetitive imagery, and it mean nothing. It is rich to me. It is abundance to me. I like that I don’t have it all figured out. I can’t wait to see the full picture. Until then, I’ll learn, dream, and hope.

Here are the websites I looked at (I have no idea if they are reputable, Just found them interesting):

“White Horse”

“Lamb”

“Dove”

Leave a Reply

